Jump to content



YOU Make the Call


  • You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 moe_ szyslak

    All District

  • Members
  • 416 posts

    Joined: 22-June 09
    Member No.: 4890

Posted 14 April 2010 - 07:29 PM

The baseball is hit to left center field. Center fielder catches it in mid air just as he collides with the left fielder, which causes the ballglove of the center fielder to fall off his hand and onto the ground. The glove comes to rest on the ground facing up with the ball still in it. The ball never left the glove and never contacted the ground. The base runners are running with two outs BEFORE the pitch, and there lays the outfielders and the glove on the ground. The glove, with the ball in it, is laying all by itself. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL?

Can't find the correct ruling anywhere in the rule book.


#2 lepiota

    Hall of Fame

  • Members
  • 2,055 posts

    Joined: 31-August 09
    Member No.: 5013

Posted 14 April 2010 - 07:41 PM

QUOTE (moe_ szyslak @ Apr 14 2010, 08:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The baseball is hit to left center field. Center fielder catches it in mid air just as he collides with the left fielder, which causes the ballglove of the center fielder to fall off his hand and onto the ground. The glove comes to rest on the ground facing up with the ball still in it. The ball never left the glove and never contacted the ground. The base runners are running with two outs BEFORE the pitch, and there lays the outfielders and the glove on the ground. The glove, with the ball in it, is laying all by itself. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL?

Can't find the correct ruling anywhere in the rule book.


You are suposed to remove the ball from the glove before the out is official. Either by removing it with your throwing hand or throwing it with the glove itself. (like a glove toss on a double play). If you are running toward the wall catch it, take five steps and hit the wall and then drop it, it would be ruled an error.

If the glove fell out with the ball in it, it should be ruled as an error or hit (depending on the scorekeepers reconning of the difficulty of the catch )

Edited by lepiota, 15 April 2010 - 07:19 AM.


#3 FanMan

    All State

  • Members
  • 572 posts

    Joined: 09-October 09
    Member No.: 5169

Posted 14 April 2010 - 10:42 PM

hmmm.....funny, this is the second time today I've seen this question asked....lol

#4 moe_ szyslak

    All District

  • Members
  • 416 posts

    Joined: 22-June 09
    Member No.: 4890

Posted 15 April 2010 - 06:02 AM

QUOTE (FanMan @ Apr 14 2010, 11:27 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
hmmm.....funny, this is the second time today I've seen this question asked....lol



Where was the other? Just curious.

#5 Candy

    All District

  • Members
  • 289 posts

    Joined: 12-April 06
    Member No.: 792
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 15 April 2010 - 06:24 AM

What did they call?

#6 moe_ szyslak

    All District

  • Members
  • 416 posts

    Joined: 22-June 09
    Member No.: 4890

Posted 15 April 2010 - 07:22 AM

QUOTE (Candy @ Apr 15 2010, 07:09 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
What did they call?


One ump called OUT! Other called NO CATCH! How's that? smile.gif

Real situation. Happened to a buddy of mine. No, not me.

#7 Procell

    All District

  • Members
  • 101 posts

    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member No.: 3619

Posted 15 April 2010 - 08:55 AM

This is a NO CATCH.
Player must secure the ball.
Glove came off hand at time of collision with other player.

Even though the ball stayed in the glove the glove came off the player's hand...this is detached player equipment...ball is not secure. There is no out.

#8 FanMan

    All State

  • Members
  • 572 posts

    Joined: 09-October 09
    Member No.: 5169

Posted 15 April 2010 - 09:21 AM

QUOTE (moe_ szyslak @ Apr 15 2010, 05:47 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where was the other? Just curious.



Really? wink.gif Here's the text, copied from the other site: (which shall remain nameless..... laugh.gif)

"The baseball is hit to left center field. Center fielder catches it in mid air just as he collides with the left fielder, which causes the ballglove of the center fielder to fall off his hand and onto the ground. The glove comes to rest on the ground facing up with the ball still in it. The ball never left the glove and never contacted the ground. The base runners are running with two outs BEFORE the pitch, and there lays the outfielders and the glove on the ground. The glove, with the ball in it, is laying all by itself. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL?

Can't find the correct ruling anywhere in the rule book"


It's word for word identical to yours.....either there's two of you or you are posting in your sleep....lol

#9 Knuckles

    All District

  • Members
  • 102 posts

    Joined: 09-December 07
    Member No.: 3057
  • Location:The Nati

Posted 15 April 2010 - 10:30 AM

It's a base hit and all the runner just keep running. It's called detached equiptment. That explanation comes from my dad who has 40years umpiring high school baseball games in Ohio.

#10 lepiota

    Hall of Fame

  • Members
  • 2,055 posts

    Joined: 31-August 09
    Member No.: 5013

Posted 15 April 2010 - 10:45 AM

QUOTE (Knuckles @ Apr 15 2010, 11:15 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
It's a base hit and all the runner just keep running. It's called detached equiptment. That explanation comes from my dad who has 40years umpiring high school baseball games in Ohio.


I believe the the medical term for detatched equipment is called "Hernia of the groin"


#11 moe_ szyslak

    All District

  • Members
  • 416 posts

    Joined: 22-June 09
    Member No.: 4890

Posted 15 April 2010 - 12:53 PM

QUOTE (FanMan @ Apr 15 2010, 10:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Really? wink.gif Here's the text, copied from the other site: (which shall remain nameless..... laugh.gif)

"The baseball is hit to left center field. Center fielder catches it in mid air just as he collides with the left fielder, which causes the ballglove of the center fielder to fall off his hand and onto the ground. The glove comes to rest on the ground facing up with the ball still in it. The ball never left the glove and never contacted the ground. The base runners are running with two outs BEFORE the pitch, and there lays the outfielders and the glove on the ground. The glove, with the ball in it, is laying all by itself. WHAT WOULD YOU CALL?

Can't find the correct ruling anywhere in the rule book"


It's word for word identical to yours.....either there's two of you or you are posting in your sleep....lol



LOL... Ohiochatter.com

I just wasn't sure.







1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users